SOL15 My Kind of Funny 11/31

Standard
sol

The March Slice of Life Story Challenge –  An Online Writing Experience Hosted by The Two Writing Teachers

My Kind of Funny – It’s Good for You!

I found this joke on twitter today @omgthatspunny:

“Two antennas met on a roof, fell in love and got married.
The ceremony wasn’t much, but the reception was brilliant!”

Later, I was reading an article on edutopia. Something in that article led me to edutopia on Pinterest… Did you know that edutopia has an LOL Board? There are some very funny things for teachers on that board. Who knew? Check this out:

078c11773313887a5474a4225e1f9684

So I started laughing. All by myself. Then I started thinking…

This is my kind of funny. Silly funny. The kind of funny that makes you smile and laugh, even when no one is around. It’s a good, clean, fun kind of funny. The kind of funny where no one gets hurt. The kind of funny that you just have to share with someone. The kind of funny that leaves you feeling delighted, cheerful, contented, joyful, and blessed.

Did you know that laughter:

  • Strengthens your immune system?
  • Protects your heart?
  • Boosts your energy?
  • Relaxes your body?
  • Increases brain power?
  • Decreases your pain?
  • Burns calories?
  • Encourages optimism?
  • Diffuses conflict?
  • Brings people together?

We know that laughter is good for us and good for our students. We need to surround our students with funny books by including joke books and humorous fiction in our read alouds and classroom libraries. We should encourage our students to write jokes and funny stories and then share their writing with others. Think of what a difference we could make if we purposefully made time to have fun and share in laughter every day.

“Laughter is like an instant vacation.”

-Milton Berle

7 thoughts on “SOL15 My Kind of Funny 11/31

  1. Judy C.

    Thanks for the laugh. Laughter is contagious and we need more of it – if we would only learn from our kids who seem to laugh at most anything. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I definitely plan to check out the Edutopia LOL Board. I also completely agree that we need to make sure that we have joke books and books that inject humor into our classrooms. There’s nothing better than hearing a student chuckle over a funny book!

Comments are closed.