SOL15 It’s Too Quiet 16/31

Standard
sol

The March Slice of Life Story Challenge –  An Online Writing Experience Hosted by The Two Writing Teachers

It’s Too Quiet

I am still at school and it’s too quiet.

I wonder why I didn’t head home
to enjoy this spring-like weather.
Tomorrow will be cold again.
After all, it’s winter.

I hear the annoying buzz of my laptop.
It has been buzzing since I dropped it.
Twice.
Shhhhh…don’t tell.

I see not a soul pass my classroom door.
Not one friendly face.
Everyone has gone.
The urgency of the school day is not there.

I feel the annoying vibrations of my laptop.
It reminds me that I dropped it.
Twice.
Shhhhh…don’t tell.

I want to head home…
but the house is empty.
So why hurry?
I’m writing.

I am still at school and it’s too quiet.

6 thoughts on “SOL15 It’s Too Quiet 16/31

  1. Lynn

    Although quiet time at school is nice, it is time to go home! I hope you did so you could enjoy a bit of the nice weather I hear you are having! Also, I won’t tell your little. 🙂

  2. Judy C.

    After all the activity and noise during your day at school, I’m sure the building was breathing a sigh of relief right along with you. And I’m sure it was saying, “why doesn’t she just leave?” I hope the silence at home was as pleasant a well.

  3. What gets said on the blog, stays on the blog 🙂
    Sometimes the quiet hum of school is just what we need to clear our heads, especially when you don’t have to get home.
    Great slice!

Comments are closed.