Wearing Hats #SOL15

Standard
Slice of Life
hosted at the
Two Writing Teachers

B (our junior in high school) shared with us tonight that she might not want to study engineering when she goes to college. She’s more interested in studying English and creative writing – maybe be an editor and hopefully have some of her own writing published.  She was worried about telling us, about disappointing us.

Her words were:  “I don’t like science or math. Engineering isn’t ideal for me. Don’t worry, I still might end up in engineering because I know how beneficial it would be to have a high-paying job.”

What?  Does it have to be about a high-paying job?   What about dreams?  What about passion and purpose?  What about loving what you do?

Of course we told her that she could study anything, do anything, be anything she wanted to be. We talked about the importance of finding your passion. We talked about finding your purpose. We talked about dreams.   We talked about loving what you do. We talked about hard work- no matter what.

What worries me is that B is still young.  She thinks that she has to decide now, at 17, what she wants to do with the rest of her life.  She has so much more to do, to see, to learn.

Why are we all in such a hurry?  I realize that some kids know what they want from the start. They never waiver.  But, what about the kids that don’t?  Recently, we’ve begun to talk about time woven into the school day to explore, to experience, to try on hats. Genius hour.  Passion projects. Did my own kids miss out on this?

Today, B is wearing the hat of a writer.  B is a beautiful writer. Writing comes easy to her (unlike her mom).  She has grown up as an avid reader, so it’s no wonder that she is a gifted writer. She loves to write!  She wants to publish her writing!  For now…it looks like B has found her passion. Hopefully, this will lead her to her purpose. (And an okay paying job? – asks her dad.)

Paul and I are wearing the hats of proud parents!

passion-purpose

Image from Pinterest
6 thoughts on “Wearing Hats #SOL15

  1. I remember my mother wanting me to be an engineer, mostly I suspect because someone told her girls couldn’t or shouldn’t … this was back in the 50s. She’d been a pre-vet major. My father told me being happy with what I did was what mattered. He saw over-competitive destroy his favorite brother.

  2. We need to do a better job teaching our kids and students the difference between vocation and avocation. We still have a “short lifespan” mentality, but that needs to change. Keep all doors open is the advice I give students. Make choices that offer more choice in the future. Most people change jobs at least seven times in their adult lives, so why do schools push kids to choose a career in MS?

  3. Ha! I laugh at your side comment that you thought you said under your breath, but I heard it, “Writing comes easy to her (unlike her mom!).” You know that isn’t true! Your writing is a gift too.

    I love how you shared B’s story and I love the conversation that follows. I look forward to conversations with my girls about this one day in their future — and I will follow your lead and talk about passion and what makes them happy! I can’t wait to read her writing one day … (did she start a blog yet?!? She can join in here!) And, perhaps, she can also teach dance and skating on the side to help with that okay paying job. All as long as she is happy!!! You should be SO proud!!

  4. Judy C.

    Yes, I agree. It’s not about how much money can be made, it’s about what makes us happy. We always want the best for our kids, but what we want and what they want, can be totally opposite. Encourage them, as you and your husband did, and help them to follow their dreams.

    I would say that B gets her writing skills from her Mom!

  5. Lynn

    So so true…I love when you say find your passio…find what will be your happiness…because all the money in the world can’t buy happiness!

Comments are closed.